Id | ESLPod_1074_CN |
---|---|
Episode Id | ESLPod 1074 |
Episode Title | Becoming a Vegetarian/Vegan |
Title | Types of Vegetarianism |
Text | There are many types of vegetarianism, and some are considered easier to "adopt" (make part of one's lifestyle) than others. For example, a "pescatarian" is someone who eats fish, but not other types of meat. So a pescatarian can eat salmon, tuna, and possibly "shellfish" (ocean animals like shrimp, clams, and oysters), but not beef, pork, or chicken. Many people first become pescatarians as they slowly "transition" (change from one thing to another) into becoming vegetarians or vegans. A "flexitarian" or a "semi-vegetarian" is someone who eats as a vegetarian most of the time, but "occasionally" (sometimes, but not often) eats meat. A "lacto-ovo-vegetarian" is what most people think of when they hear the word "vegetarian": someone who does not eat meat, but does eat eggs and dairy products. A "lacto-vegetarian" eats dairy products, but not meat or eggs. An "ovo-vegetarian" eats eggs, but not meat or dairy products. As discussed in today's episode, a "vegan" is someone who does not eat any milk, eggs, dairy products, or anything derived from dairy products, including "gelatin" (a substances that thickens foods like pudding, jams, and Jello-O), because it is made from animal "collagen" (a substance found in connective tissues). Finally, a "raw vegan" or someone who follows a "raw food diet" is a person who eats only "raw" (uncooked) foods. Raw vegans believe that the process of cooking foods removes some or all of the nutrition, or may even harm the body. |
Topics | Food + Drink |
Learn with these flashcards. Click next, previous, or up to navigate to more flashcards for this subject.
Next card: Dagger dolch
Previous card: Crowns kronen
Up to card list: ESLPod Culture Note